Oak Park voters elect trustees for four-year terms. Open to the public, meetings of the Board of Library Trustees are held on the third Tuesday of the month at 7:30 pm. unless rescheduled by the trustees. Find board meeting dates and locations and get in touch at board@oppl.org.

Board of Library Trustees

Matt Baron, President of the Board, term ends 2017
708.860.1380  |  m.baron@oppl.org
 
Baron and his wife, Bridgett, moved to Oak Park in 1994 shortly after they were married. A former longtime newspaper reporter who got his professional start as a 15-year-old in the suburbs of Boston, he is the principal of Inside Edge: Public Relations & Media Services. Baron is a member of the Oak Park-River Forest Chamber of Commerce, serves as a volunteer youth basketball and baseball coach, and is active in his Chicago church, Harvest Bible Chapel.

 

 

Win Fox
Vice President of the Board, term ends 2017
301.275.4673  |  w.fox@oppl.org

 

 

 

Matthew Fruth
Finance Officer of the Board, term ends 2017
708.606.4164  |  m.fruth@oppl.org

 

 

 

Janet Kelenson
Secretary of the Board, term ends 2019
708.848.5524  |  j.kelenson@oppl.org

Kelenson has lived in Oak Park for almost 30 years and is a semi-retired attorney. She is a former Board president of the Metropolitan Library System, which served libraries in the western and southern Chicago suburbs. The Illinois Library Association selected Kelenson to receive its Trustee Citation Award in 2005.

 

 

Theodore N. Foss, term ends 2019
708.386.4707  |  t.foss@oppl.org

Foss is a 20-year resident of Oak Park. He has been an administrator and Chinese historian at the University of Chicago, Stanford, and University of San Francisco. Foss also has served on a number of national and local boards, including the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust. In his spare time Foss is an avid music advocate and gardener.

 

 

 

Carmenza Millan, term ends 2019
312.282.7774  |  c.millan@oppl.org

 

 

 

(not pictured) Bruce Samuels, term ends 2017
708.383.7711  |   b.samuels@oppl.org

What does the Board do?

From the bylaws: the Board of Trustees of the Oak Park Public Library is responsible for governance and overseeing the provision of library service to meet the needs of the Oak Park community. To this end, the board shall:

  1. Determine library policies.
  2. Employ a capable library administrator.
  3. Secure adequate funds for library operations.
  4. Approve expenditure of library funds.
  5. Provide and maintain adequate facilities.
  6. Insure a representative selection of library materials.
  7. Promote use of the library within the community.
  8. Perform other duties as outlined in Illinois Compiled Statutes.