Jump to navigation
Every Oak Park resident, teacher, and business owner can get an Oak Park Public Library card.
- Applying as a resident age 18 years or older? Bring in a current photo ID (e.g., driver’s license, state ID, passport) and proof of Oak Park residency, such as a utility bill or recently postmarked mail, to any library location. More information for new residents from the Village of Oak Park.
- Applying on behalf of a child? Visit the library together. The parent/guardian must show proof of Oak Park residency, such as a utility bill or recently postmarked mail, and sign the application for anyone under 18.
- Applying as an Oak Park educator? All Oak Park teachers, teaching assistants, and school staff can bring in their Oak Park school employment IDs. Returning teachers can renew by phone. Call us at 708.383.8200. All educator cards have a one-year expiration date.
- Applying for an Oak Park business or nonprofit organization? Stop by with your lease or a tax bill, a photo ID, and full contact information for the person responsible for any fines or lost materials.
- Not an Oak Park resident? You may have reciprocal borrowing privileges through your home library. View a list of public libraries that participate, and contact us to learn more. You may also purchase a card for an annual fee of $445.09 and receive full benefits.
More about your card and account
- To check out materials and to use checkout stations, public computers, and printers, you need your library card number and PIN.
- Oak Park Public Library cards may be used at most libraries in Illinois (if the library is a statewide reciprocal borrower). If visiting a library outside the SWAN consortium, bring your ID and your Oak Park Public Library card. Many libraries require cards to be free of fines before registering a new user.
- Anyone who has a valid Chicago Public Library card or other Illinois library card may use Oak Park Public Library resources. Registration may be required on your first visit.
- Most cards issued since March 20, 2012, have no expiration date. Cards issued before March 20, 2012, should be renewed (in person with a photo ID) one last time when the card expires.
- Please report a lost card immediately. We will mark it as lost, which protects you if it is misused. You may get a replacement card for $1.