What to read next when you’re living through a pandemic

By Collection Management Librarian Dontaná McPherson-Joseph

Adjusting to the new normal is hard, and creating a new routine is even harder. So, what to do when the world is scarier than usual? Go for long walks across town, look longingly out of windows, spend hours in the garden, bake all kinds of treats, try out new recipes. You also could craft, organize your space, get to those home improvement projects that have been waiting for the perfect day. Well, weather permitting, any day could be the perfect day.

You can find all of the title suggestions below available in your digital library through Media on Demand and Libby and/or Hoopla.

So you’re living through a pandemic…


Homegrown Vegetables, Fruits & Herbs by Jim Wilson

Description: A thorough gardening resource includes a guide to fruits and vegetables and sources for seeds and seedlings, information on selecting a garden site, no-till gardening, soils and nutrients, making gardening more economical, and keeping crops fresh and full of flavor after harvest.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook)

Sewing Machine Magic by Steffani Lincecum

Description: An author and sewing expert—drawing on her years of experience sewing for Hollywood films, TV, and theater—shows readers how to handle a sewing machine with greater ease and confidence, and explains how to easily find the right presser and other accessories for the machine.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook)

Natural Soap by Melinda Coss

Description: Bestselling author and professional soap maker Melinda Coss shows how to make a wonderful range of bar and liquid soaps as well as exquisite creams, lotions, and balms.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook)

Do-It-Yourself Garden Projects & Crafts by Debbie Wolfe

Description: Offers sixty practical and decorative projects using homegrown and foraged materials, including herbal lotion bars, seed bombs, bird feeders, sun catchers, and hand scrub.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook)

The Complete Book of Home Organization by Toni Hammersley

Description: From storage solutions and cleaning tips to secret space-saving methods and expert strategies, The Complete Book of Home Organization is packed with the tips and shortcuts you need to effectively organize your home. From small spaces and apartment solutions to how to tackle a big, messy home with a 15-week total home organization challenge, this book covers it all.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook), Media on Demand & Libby (ebook)

The Book of Home How-To by Cool Springs Press

Description: Offers illustrated, step-by-step instructions on the most common home repair, maintenance, and improvement tasks, including electrical, plumbing, flooring, walls, windows and doors, kitchens, bathrooms, cabinetry, garages, basements, and exteriors.

Stream & download with: Hoopla (ebook)

Librarian Dontaná McPherson-Joseph

About Dontaná

Dontaná is a Collection Management Librarian who was born with an unending reading list. She is almost always reading two books simultaneously and is easily distracted by cool covers.  

Stay current on news and new arrivals.

Close Bitnami banner
Bitnami